

## Do not forget the humanitarian suffering!

## Statement on the ongoing developments in the Middle East and the humanitarian crisis in Gaza

As co-presidents of the network of European Justice and Peace Commissions, we express our deep concern regarding the recent developments in the Middle East.

In these difficult times, we join Pope Leo XIV in his repeated, urgent appeals to the conflict parties to exercise responsibility and reason. On Sunday 22 June he appealed for an end of the tragedy of war, especially in the Middle East and said: "Humanity cries out and pleads for peace." A week earlier he stated: "The commitment to building a safer world, free from the nuclear threat, must be pursued through respectful encounters and sincere dialogue to build a lasting peace, founded on justice, fraternity, and the common good. No one should ever threaten another's existence. It is the duty of all countries to support the cause of peace, initiating paths of reconciliation and promoting solutions that guarantee security and dignity for all!"

Our thoughts and prayers are with the civilian population in Palestine, Israel and Iran, who are suffering from the consequences of the combat.

We call on the conflict parties to respect the principles of international humanitarian law and to enter into a sincere dialogue on the basis of mutual recognition of each other's right to exist as a state, aiming at sustainable peace for the entire region as soon as possible. The goal must be peaceful coexistence that enables all people in the region to live in dignity and freedom.

The humanitarian suffering caused by the conflicts must not be forgotten against the backdrop of the intense media coverage of the ongoing fighting. The humanitarian situation in the Gaza Strip is particularly worrying. We call for the provision of necessary humanitarian aid as quickly as possible and for the parties to the conflict to refrain from any actions that make it difficult or even impossible to provide humanitarian aid.

Brussels, 24 June 2025 Maria Hammershøy (Co-President)

+Antoine Hérouard (Co-President)